Sharon Thompson Signs With Bloodhound Books

I am so happy to share the news that Sharon Thompson has just signed with Bloodhound Books, one of the UK’s leading independent publishers of crime and thriller fiction.  The book will be released later this winter.

“Meet Peggy. An unmarried 1950s woman like no other.”

Peggy Bowden is a thirty-year-old, back-street abortionist and brothel owner in 1950s Dublin. Her past comes back to haunt her, when a girl from her home county of Sligo, arrives to her door looking for an abortion. The books peels back the layers of Peggy’s world, an unmarried, ambitious woman living in the harshness of 1950s Ireland. With a lack of contraception, rights and respect, feisty Peggy takes on the church, the law and the emerging, criminal underworld of Dublin.

Sharon Thompson lives in Donegal, Ireland and writes crime fiction, short stories and commercial fiction.

She is an avid member of Imagine, Write, Inspire an on-line writing group, under the mentorship of HarperCollins author Carmel Harrington.

Her published short stories can be found in Brilliant Flash Fiction, Silver Apples, WritingRaw, North West Words and two anthologies by Imagine, Write, Inspire. Elijah Lucian also recorded her story for his audio flash-fiction site.

Her non-fiction pieces were published on the International Dangerous Women’s Project and on various websites. Drunk Monkeys published her short story in July and The Incubator will feature her flash-fiction this month.

#WritersWise is her collaboration with writer, Dr Liam Farrell. This is a trending, fortnightly, promotional tweet-chat with corresponding Facebook page and website (www.writerswise1.wordpress.com). It’s mission is to encourage and support writers to reach as wide an audience as possible.

On Sunday mornings, Sharon’s regular column is on Woman’s Words with Donegal Woman website and Facebook. www.donegalwoman.ie.

To learn more about Sharon please visit www.sharontwriter.wordpress.com and @sharontwriter.

I’m the Guest on The Romantic Novelists’ Association Blog

People often ask me how I became a literary agent. If anyone is curious to learn my story, please click on the link below.  I was the guest agent on the Romantic Novelists’ Association Blog – “Ask the Industry Expert” on Friday.  Helena Fairfax, romance author and editor, was kind enough to interview me.

http://romanticnovelistsassociationblog.blogspot.co.uk/2017/08/ask-industry-expert-literary-agent.html

Welcome Back Eoghan Rice

Eoghan Rice

Trace Literary welcomes Eoghan Rice back to the agency and are pleased to represent him on his first work of fiction, Branches of Trees.

Branches of Trees is a satirical tale of ambition, deception and literature. It is a story of ill-gotten success and the chaos that reigns when a lie spirals out of control.
Told over seventeen chapters and 70,291 words, it is a fast-paced comedy based on sharp dialogue in the tradition of John Kennedy Toole, Nick Hornby and David Lodge. It will be enjoyed by anybody looking for humor and light relief in a world badly in need of both.

Eoghan Rice is a Dublin-born writer with almost 20 years of experience as both a leading journalist and senior communications professional. He is currently Head of Communications with Trócaire, one of Ireland’s largest charities, having previously been a staff journalist with The Sunday Tribune newspaper. He is the author of two non-fiction books. In addition to contributing regular articles to a variety of publications on behalf of Trócaire, he has recently had columns published in The Times and The Journal.

His early forays into writing saw him establish a satirical magazine while still in school. During his time in University College Dublin he edited The College Tribune, UCD’s independent student newspaper.

Eoghan began writing for The Sunday Tribune newspaper while completing his degree at UCD. Upon graduation he was offered a staff position with the newspaper. As a staff journalist with The Sunday Tribune from 2003 to 2007 he wrote on a wide variety of topics, including politics and social affairs.

In 2007 he left national journalism to join the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) as spokesperson for professional football in the country. A key focus of this role was to engage with the media to promote the domestic game and perform crisis communications duties.

He worked for the FAI for four years before joining Trócaire in 2010. As Head of Communications, Eoghan develops strong relationships across print, broadcast and online media in order to promote the work of Trócaire. He regularly travels oversees with journalists, as well as organizing events and initiatives to engage the media in Ireland.

Eoghan has written two previous books – We Are Rovers, a history of Shamrock Rovers Football Club published in 2005, and Homicide, an analysis of violent crime trends in Ireland published in 2006. Branches of Trees is his first work of fiction.

As an experienced journalist and communications professional, Eoghan is very well connected in the Irish media and has a long track record of generating publicity and media promotion.  He is extremely active on social media, with a strong reach across Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn in particular.

He lives in Dublin with his wife Sorcha.

To learn more, please visit his website eoghanwrites.wordpress.com

or follow him on Facebook, and Twitter

Caroline Busher’s second book, The Girl Who Ate the Stars, to be released in October

For fans of the Irish Times Best Selling novel The Ghosts of Magnificent Children, Caroline Busher’s second book, The Girl Who Ate the Stars will be released in October.

Inspired by the World War II Bombing of Campile in Wexford which took place on 26th of August 1940.

Long ago in Ireland wolf children roamed the land. They lived deep within forests and on snow-capped mountains. Their world was known as Wolf Land. This is their story….

26th August 1940
During World War II, Lottie and Albert Hope are evacuated from wartime England. They are taken to a village in the South East of Ireland, where nothing is as it seems.

One of Hitler’s bombs is dropped on the village. It opens a portal to Wolf Land.
They discover a wolf girl called Cuán. She has two hearts and eats the stars. Her claws are like daggers and her sapphire eyes are made of starlight. Cuán is not alone. There are others like her. They need help to escape.

Wolf Land is ruled by the evil Connall mac Airt and his wicked band of werewolf warriors.

In a race against time Lottie and Albert must rescue Cuán and the Wolf Children. A terrifying future that awaits them if the portal between the two worlds closes forever more.

The Girl Who Ate the Stars will be published by Poolbeg in October.  Looking forward to the release of this fabulous book.

 

Congratulations to Adele O’Neill on the publication of Brothers & Sisters


As I was off for the July 4th holiday and was not at my computer, I was unable to post this wonderful news for author Adele O’Neill.  July 1st was publication day for her debut novel Brothers & Sisters published by Aria.

Aria is an imprint from the dynamic and award-winning independent publisher Head of Zeus.

A gripping, highly emotive story of love, survival, dark family secrets and sibling loyalty. Perfect for the fans of Kathryn Hughes and Dorothy Koomson.

When human remains are found on Fitzpatrick Estate, Detective Kelly is drawn deep into the complex web of Fitzpatrick family secrets as Timothy and his sister Rose, now in their sixties, are catapulted into the centre of the investigation.

When the pathology report identifies the remains as that of their uncle, Patrick Fitzpatrick, missing from Fitzpatrick Estate since 1970, they scramble to protect their past.

Nothing remains buried forever… What would you do to protect the ones you love?

‘Incredibly moving, beautifully written, this dramatic tale of dark family secrets is impossible to put down. I loved it’ CARMEL HARRINGTON.

Adele is a writer from Co. Wicklow who lives with her husband Alan and her two teenage daughters.  She writes overlooking the Irish Sea, which she credits for the tumultuous dynamics in her character’s relationships and is currently weaving mayhem through the lives of her unsuspecting characters in her second novel, another dark tale that tests the lengths we go to protect the ones we love.

Adele is also a member of the Wexford Literary Festival Committee.

You can follow Adele on Twitter at @adeleoneill10.

Congratulations Adele.  So thrilled to be representing you on your amazing book(s)!

 

2017 Chicago Writing Workshop June 24, 2017

It’s all go here at Trace Literary Agency. Tomorrow I’ll be in Chicago for the Chicago Writing Workshop after a request from presenter Chuck Sambuchino of Writer’s Digest Books and the editor of Guide to Literary Agents.

This is a special one-day “How to Get Published” writing workshop on Saturday, June 24, 2017, at the historic Congress Plaza Hotel.  It’s one day full of classes and advice designed to give authors the best instruction on how to get their writing and books published. Topics will include publishing opportunities today, how to write queries and pitches, how to market yourself and your books, what makes an agent/editor stop reading your manuscript, and more.

I’ll be serving on a panel with other literary agents and editors for  “Writers Got Talent”—a Page 1 Critique Fest. In the vein of “American Idol” or “America’s Got Talent,” this is a chance for an author to get their first page read (anonymously) with attending agents commenting on what was liked or not liked about the submission.

And I will be listening to author pitches throughout the day.

I’m looking forward to meeting Chuck, as well as the many agents, editors and aspiring writers who will be in attendance.

See you in the Windy City…..