Happy Publication Day Again to Tom Phelan

So sorry to be a day late in posting this. And just look at this cover!!

Happy Publication Day (paperback edition) to Tom Phelan on the release of his book, Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told, published by Skyhorse.

Part human comedy and part mystery, Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told is a story about what holds a village together and what keeps people apart. When journalist Patrick Bracken returns to the Irish village where he was born, he knows the eyes of the townspeople are on him. He has come home to investigate two deaths that happened decades earlier, when he was a boy, deaths that were ruled accidental. But Patrick knows—and believes the whole town knows—they were murders.

The online book review site Shelf Awareness says:

Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told is “a masterful portrait of Irish village life disguised as a murder mystery,” adding “Phelan finds humor and warmth in every poignant moment.”

Publishers Weekly calls the book a “witty novel” and notes the “humor and the plentiful details of the farming lifestyle do much to enrich Phelan’s entertaining murder mystery.”

The paperback of Tom Phelan’s acclaimed novel Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told will be launched on Tuesday, March 14, at 7:30 p.m. in the Garden City Public Library at 60 Seventh St., Garden City, NY. Sponsored by the Irish Cultural Society, this event is free and open to all.

Congratulations Tom!

A Three Book Deal for Adele O’Neill

More good news to share.

Trace Literary is thrilled to announce that Adele O’Neill has been offered a three book deal from publisher Caroline Ridding at Aria/Head of Zeus. Caroline was formerly with HarperCollins Avon.

Adele’s first book, Brothers and Sisters is set to be published in August/September 2017.

Brothers and Sisters is a 92,000 word character driven story of survival, dark family secrets and sibling loyalty, just like life.

When human remains are found on the boundary ditch of Fitzpatrick Estate, the local village in Kilkenny is alive with whispers, rumour and record as Detective Kelly peels back layer upon layer of hidden family secrets and mystery. The original owners, Timothy and his sister Rose, now in their sixties, are catapulted into the centre of the investigation when the preliminary pathology report identifies the remains as that of Patrick Fitzpatrick, an old vile uncle of both Rose and Timothy. The acidity of the soil has preserved his remains and the body is thought to have been lying in a bog at the corner of the land for forty six years. A date for an inquest is set by the coroner and Detective Kelly sets about investigating the case. Close to retirement, Detective Kelly is determined to solve his last case and suspects there is more to the discovery of the remains than meets the eye.

Adele is a writer from Co. Wicklow who lives with her husband Alan and her two teenage daughters. She sold her successful Montessori business in 2013 so that she could concentrate on her writing.

She was fortunate to win a charity auction to have Sheila Crowley, literary agent for Curtis Brown, complete a readers report of her novel. In her report, Ms. Crowley refers to Adele’s work as ‘clearly the work of a writer with a gift for storytelling’ that has ‘the architecture of a great story’, that in parts reminded her of ‘the warmth of Emma Hannigan’.

Congratulations Adele!

Welcome Irish Author Sharon Thompson

We have another author on board here.

Please help me in welcoming Sharon Thompson to Trace Literary Agency.

Sharon Thompson lives in Donegal, Ireland and is an ex-primary school principal.

Sharon writes crime fiction, short stories and commercial fiction.

She’s an avid member of Imagine, Write, Inspire a writing group, under the mentorship of HarperCollins author Carmel Harrington.

Sharon’s short stories have been published in various on-line magazines. Her latest non-fiction piece is published on the international Dangerous Woman’s project.  #WritersWise is her collaboration with writer, Dr Liam Farrell. This is a trending, fortnightly, promotional tweet-chat with corresponding Facebook page and website — www.writerswise1.wordpress.com. It’s mission is to encourage and support writers to reach as wide an audience as possible.

Sharon has three manuscripts that will go out on submission.

Devina, Arthur, and Peggy.

Devina (67,000 words)  –  ‘Inside the mind of a female serial killer.’

Based in 1950s England, the Mediterranean and Paris, Devina chronicles the life of an effective, female serial killer. Devina’s lust for sex, blood and killing brings the reader on a journey into the mind of a woman who takes it all. But does she always come out on top?

Arthur (87,000 words)  –  ‘There’s something about Arthur … and the Irish dating scene is about to find out what.’

For fans of quirky, funny and feel-good reads, Arthur and his quest to find true love is irresistible. Fans of A Man called Ove and The Rosie Project will love his story. Charming Arthur is lonely and misses his wife Grace who died in a car accident. At sixty-eight Arthur is new to the dating game and social media. With his pal Malcolm he puts himself ‘out there’ again. His grandchildren, friends and family all help him overcome his fears and guilt, in his quest to find out if true love ever does strike twice.

Peggy (87,000 words)  –  ‘Meet Peggy an unmarried 1950s woman like no other.’

Fans of Lynda Page and Louise Philips will love this novel. Peggy Bowden is a thirty-year-old, back-street abortionist and brothel owner in 1950s Dublin. Her past comes back to haunt her, when a girl from her home county of Sligo, arrives to her door looking for an abortion. The books peels back the layers of Peggy’s world, an unmarried, ambitious woman living in the harshness of 1950s Ireland. With a lack of contraception, rights and respect, feisty Peggy takes on the church, the law and the emerging, criminal underworld of Dublin.

Through her charity work Sharon has given lectures, spoken publically, completed live interviews and written articles.

You can learn more about Sharon and her writing by visiting her Facebook page or following her on Twitter at @sharontwriter.

Welcome Sharon.  We look forward to working with you!

Welcome Maria Duffy

Maria Duffy

Trace Literary is pleased to welcome (long overdue) Maria Duffy to the Agency.

I had the pleasure of meeting Maria when I was in Dublin last fall.  At the beginning of the year she signed on with the agency, and we are thrilled to have her.

Maria Duffy is a best selling Irish author. She grew up in Dublin and now makes her home in the lovely village of Lucan in County Dublin with her husband, Paddy, and four children – Eoin, Roisin, Enya and Conor.

When she left her career in banking to become a stay-at-home mom, she never dreamed that writing, something she’s always loved, would become her job one day.

Maria was signed by one of the world’s leading literary agencies, Curtis Brown (UK), and secured a two book deal with Hachette Ireland. Her debut novel, Any Dream Will Do was published in November 2011 and became an Irish bestseller as did her all of her subsequent novels.

She now has a total of 6 books published – Any Dream Will Do, The Terrace, The Letter, One Wish, A Love Like This and Falling Softly.   Her books have been published in Brazil, Italy, France and Turkey.

We are currently looking for a US publisher to pick up Maria’s books.

You can learn more about Maria and her writing by visiting her website at: mariaduffy.ie You can follow her on Twitter at @mduffywriter

Congratulations to Joan Brady on Publication Day – Again!

cinderella-reflex-b-6

Huge congratulations goes out to Joan Brady on the paperback publication of her book, The Cinderella Reflex. I’ve been told it went on sale a bit earlier than the official publication day, so many of you may already have  copy.

The book was published in trade paperback by Poolbeg Press in January of 2016.

Please take a look at the wonderful review by Mairead Hearne of Swirl and Thread.

And please add it to your reading list!

Congratulations (AGAIN!) to Carmel Harrington on publication day!

 

ttishty

Congratulations goes again to Carmel Harrington as today is publication day in the UK & Ireland of The Things I Should Have Told You, mass paperback edition.

The book has been on sale in Ireland since last September, so some of you have already read it. Since its release in Ireland, it has become an Irish Times Bestseller. It then received a shortlist nomination for the prestigious BGE Irish Book Awards.

Well done Carmel!

Happy Publication Day to Paul O’Brien

51xm8jm5bpl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

It’s only the third day of 2017 and its a wonderful start to the new year.

Please help me in congratulating author Paul O’Brien on the publication of his second book in the Blood Red Turns Dollar Green crime trilogy – A Shoot published by Skyhorse Publishing NYC.

“What goes on in the wrestling ring is a sideshow to cutthroat dealings outside”

Danno Garland has it made. After years of planning, backstabbing, and shady handshakes, he controls the world heavyweight champion and just about everywhere he can wrestle. Danno’s outmaneuvered the other New York bosses, and he’s the first in pro wrestling history to expand beyond his own territory and buy up others. He stands atop his own empire. But all of that has come crumbling down. Now he’s a changed man. Now it’s not the business he cares about, it’s revenge. And Danno’s willing to destroy everything he’s built to find the man who did it.

Meanwhile, Lenny Long, Danno’s driver, is trying to get away from wrestling and his former boss. He wants to return home and be the husband and father he hasn’t been. But Lenny needs to make things right before he can make a clean break, and that means returning a bag full of money he shouldn’t have to its rightful owner. But this money is at the center of a deal gone bad. Lenny doesn’t know just how deep in it he’s put himself, and the world of pro wrestling won’t let him leave without a fight.

Praise for Paul O’Brien and the Blood Red Turns Dollar Green trilogy:

“Blood Red Turns Dollar Green is a one-of-a-kind literary offering for die-hard wrestling fans that respects the business enough to place it inside a wider fictionalized world of crime and corruption.” —Kenny Herzog, RollingStone.com

“Blood Red Turns Dollar Green is one hell of a novel, with shades of Mario Puzzo, Elmore Leonard, and Michael Connelly. The action is relentless, the characters are shady, and the justice is swift and final. Paul O’Brien is the real deal” —Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl, Plugged, and Another Thing

“An entertaining look at the world of professional [wrestling], not to mention a solidly plotted mystery—more than enough to put readers on the alert for the next Danno Garland book.” —Booklist

“So real you can smell the sweat on the mat and taste the blood on the floor.” —Paul Guay, Hollywood screenwriter of Liar, Liar; The Little Rascals; and Heartbreakers

“I strongly suggest that you read Paul O’Brien’s Blood Red Turns Dollar Green series as they are amazing novels that embrace the pro-wrestling biz amazingly and accurately and will take you on a Slobber Knocker of a ride. Must-read novels.” —Jim Ross, WWE legend